Zero Waste Pumpkin Spice

I’ll spare you the “white-girl, starbucks” jokes and cut to the chase.

Pumpkin spice is good shit. Not only is it fundamental for pumpkin pie, but it just compliments about anything baking-wise you could come up with. Pancakes, banana bread, cookies, and muffins- trust me, this spice does it all.

But being zero-waste, I had a dilemma. I couldn’t find the stuff without any waste- I even tried to be more relaxed and look for a recyclable plastic container to no avail; they all came with trash worthy seals. So I roved the internet and I roved the local grocery store bulk bins to see what I could do. Save-On foods (a.k.a. the NIRVANA of bulk bins) had all the necessary spices and the internet being the handy tool it knows itself to be came through with several “recipes”. Here goes!

Prep Time: 20 minutes (if you’re like me and accidentally inhale the ground ginger, thus sneezing for approximately 17 minutes)
Cook Time: Literally 30 seconds (can’t believe you guys made me include this, super weird of you, you literally just stir or shake it)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup of ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons of ground ginger
  • 2 teaspoons of ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoons of ground cloves
Leave a Reply

