Salted Caramel Pumpkin Seeds

Ok, so a few years ago, a roommate of mine left behind this Pampered Chef caramel sprinkle. The only reason I’m providing the link for this is because I’m pretty sure their caramel sprinkle is the best thing I have ever had on pumpkin seeds. Alas, all good things must come to an end, and despite this bottle still going strong, I know such a good thing can’t last forever. So this week, I tried making my favorite halloween snack with brown sugar, olive oil, and salt. Annnnnd maybe a few dashes of cinnamon. You can’t go wrong with cinnamon.

You’re going to hate me because I’m not going to be able to give you exact measurements because
A.) How the hell am I supposed to know how many pumpkin seeds your pumpkin is going to have and what if they’re bigger than the number I give you?
B.) I’m really, really, bad at keeping track of measurements.

Salted Caramel Pumpkin Seeds

Ingredients

  • Brown sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Salt
  • Olive Oil

Instructions

  1. Rinse and dry seeds. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Start with a very small amount of olive oil, and continue adding until  all the seeds glisten slightly. I don’t enjoy an excess of oil, and I feel as though the extra oil might prevent the sugars from sticking when they melt.
  3. Now here’s the tricky part. I would recommend mixing the salt and the sugars before placing them on the seeds, that way you can get the balance right. I didn’t add enough salt to my first batch. Start with a tablespoon of brown sugar, 1/3 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/3 a teaspoon of salt. Go from there.
  4. Mix thoroughly and remember- you don’t want to entirely coat the seeds, you just want to give them some flavor. If you wanted diabetes you should’ve looked at my Vegan Oh Henry Bar recipe.
  5. Spread seeds evenly across a cookie sheet- no need to grease the pain, the oil on the seeds should do it for you. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown.

Fun Fact: You can do this with spaghetti squash seeds too!

A note on the feature picture:
I made a huge- I mean HUGE- batch of pumpkin seeds because I collected unwanted seeds from a community pumpkin carving event. I used a very, very small amount of sugar because I’m not a huge fan of overly sweet seeds, though I know many people who wold prefer them to have more seasoning. I also forgot them in the oven and they burned a little. Yum, extra flavor.

Happy Haunting!
The Dirt Mouth

Leave a Reply

