Vegan Shepherds Pie

Okay, so from the feature picture, you can already tell that my mashed potato portions are way off. This was no accident. I love mashed potatoes.

Like most of the recipes I feature, they can be modified for different diets. This one, for example, could easily be paleo, without the lentils and with meat instead of a mushroom spiced replaced.

I was also too lazy to open a can of corn, which I’m sure would be a great addition to this recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 4 large potatoes (pretty sure there’s a specific kind to use, but I just grabbed whatever from the grocery store)
  • A decent amount of mushrooms (it depends on how big you want the layer to be, right? I used an 8″ cast iron pan for frying the layers and baking)
  • 1 cup of brown lentils (cooked prior to use or directly from can after being drained)
  • Carrots
  • Almond milk (for the mashed potatoes, can use any sort of dairy replacement/alternative)
  • Salt & pepper
  • Rosemary
  • Nutritional yeast flakes
  • Optional: Additional layers like corn,  or any vegetable really.
  • Optional: For a sweet twist, try using mashed yams or sweet potatoes. For a soft touch of sweetness add a layer of cooked beets (the color alone is gorgeous).

Instructions:

  1. Cut and boil potatoes until soft (leave the skins, they won’t kill you).
  2. Cut and fry mushrooms with lentils, salt & pepper, and rosemary. Again, spice to your personal taste. Fry until mushrooms and wholly cooked and sizzling.
  3. Slice and boil carrots.
  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  5. Layer carrots over mushroom/lentil fry. Here you would also layer any other vegetables, which should be cooked and soft before adding.
  6. Mash potatoes once cooked, spicing with salt and pepper, and adding a dash of almond milk to make them more creamy. I don’t really care if they’re chunky, but that might just be me. Also I have to use a cup to mash the potatoes because I’m working in a student kitchen and also, it works fine, so leave me be.
  7. Layer potatoes on top of everything, and sprinkle a heavy layer of nutritional yeast flakes on top. This is the all-time best cheese replacement ever in case you didn’t know.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes, or until funny popping sounds (lentils bursting) start coming from the oven.

At this point, if you find yourself starting to hate that I don’t put exact measurements all the time, I need you to understand something. First off, I do apologize. Second off, I don’t really apologize because I don’t use measurements when it comes to proportioning layers/spicing. Taste test like its your day job, people. Trust me. A lot of the time you can eye-ball these sorts of measurements, and if you’re not used to cooking like that- isn’t learning new things fun?

All the best,
The Dirt Mouth

Leave a Reply

