BBQ Black Burgers

First off, I’d like to say they’re really good. Secondly, no, they do not taste like beef burgers.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, I can cut to the good stuff.

I am newly vegetarian/vegan because
A.) Finding meat in a small town without the packaging is possible, it just means I would need to approach a local farmer before they butcher the cow/chicken- and really, I’ve never been a huge fan of meat anyways.
B.) I’ve been in need of a diet change, I definitely have some ignored intolerances. Why not go with the zero waste flow?

I began by googling black bean burger recipes, but as per usual, just ended up scanning several, getting the gist of it, and doing my own thing.

img_7257

Ingredients:

  • 16oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed.
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced.
  • 1/2 a red onion, finely chopped.
  • A whole bunch of garlic (I love garlic)
  • 1 egg (so I guess its not vegan, but it could be with a flaxseed egg!)
  • 2 almond flour biscuits, crumbled.
  • 1 tablespoon of chili powder
  • A few dollops of sweet chili Thai sauce.

Instructions:

  1. Mash beans in a food processor or with a fork (the fork takes forever, persevere).
  2. As per usual, throw everything else in the bowl and mush until it seems well mixed.
  3. Now here’s where it gets a little tricky. If you’re making these on the stove, great, a pan is perfect. These burgers don’t exactly hold together in the same way meat burgers do, even if you add extra eggs. This means the widely spread bars of a BBQ are somewhat of a risk I’m not really willing to take. Therefore, I used a BBQ pizza pan to grill these burgers, but a cast iron pan would also do the trick.
  4. Cook until blackened (I love when the outside gets crispy), and serve hot. Don’t forget to turn off the BBQ!

Best enjoyed on the deck with a cat.

img_7259

All the best,
The Dirt Mouth

Leave a Reply

