Bangkok 

What should have been a clear day in Beijing, China.

After an 11hr flight to Beijing (and the worst air quality I’ve ever experienced in my life, literally burns your throat) and a 5hr flight to Bangkok (which due to my exhaustion I don’t actually remember) we took our first steps on Thai soil, and walked right into confusion and culture shock.
I’m a planner, it’s what I do; I like to know times, places and directions. First thing I’ve learned so far? Planning has only cost us money and comfort: I wouldn’t call myself a “girly-girl” but I do like my bed and shower to be mostly bug free. A couple bugs, sure. Hell, even a hundred collectively because they’re so small. Needless to say, there are more than a hundred bugs at Amazing House Hostel, but at $12CAN/night it’s hard to say we’re above a little grime.

  1.  

(Looked up while brushing my teeth, guess they weren’t kidding about the 24/7 surveillance)

Thai iced tea is awesome, Khao San road is popping, going to the ministry of tourism and adventure was a huge help, and staying just off of khao San road has been a really good call (river view above beside Korbua House, a little pricey but awesome).

Cream cheese (shout out to Jason for Darrian’s great new nick name) hasn’t burned yet and is infinitely better than me at crossing the network of chaos they insist on calling “roads”. With an average of 30+ degrees everyday, I’m thinking a burn is just around the corner though, potentially for both of us.

Having decided that Bangkok isn’t exactly our style, and having done a fair amount of walking and wandering the past two days, Darrian arranged a beach escape to one of the islands in the northern gulf of Thailand (Koh Samet) where we will explore for a week and then head north.

All the best,

Em

2 thoughts on “Bangkok 

  1. Really enjoying the updates and glad to hear everything is going well. Nice pet gecko 🙂 Look forward to hearing about your beach adventures. Enjoy, have fun, be safe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

